Log in


Jonathon O. Russell

Dr Jonathon O. Russell is the Director of the Division of Head and Neck Endocrine Surgery at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, MD, where he is also the Director of the Multispecialty Thyroid Tumor Center. His research has focused on novel innovations in thyroid and parathyroid surgery, including minimally invasive techniques such as radiofrequency ablation (RFA) and remote access surgery (such as transoral thyroidectomy).

Dr. Timothy Huber, President Elect

Dr. Timothy Huber is an Interventional Radiologist with a focus in interventional oncology and minimally invasive thyroid interventions. Following residency and fellowship in vascular and interventional radiology at the University of Virginia, he established a multidisciplinary thyroid RFA program at Oregon Health and Science University. After returning to the east coast, he has built a thyroid intervention practice at Jefferson Radiology in central Connecticut. He is a founding member of the North American Society for Interventional Thyroidology, and the current president-elect. He speaks regularly on the role of minimally invasive thyroid interventions for benign and malignant thyroid disease. He has authored and co-authored a number of peer reviewed articles on thyroid nodule radiofrequency ablation.

Julia Noel, Secretary

Dr. Julia Noel is a head and neck surgeon with fellowship training in endocrine surgery and board certification in otolaryngology. She is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Stanford University School of Medicine. She specializes in the surgical care of both benign and malignant thyroid and parathyroid conditions. She has additional expertise and training in minimally invasive approaches and ultrasound-guided techniques performed in the office, particularly chemical and thermal ablative techniques.

Maria Papaleontiou, Treasurer

Maria Papaleontiou, MD, is an Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine in the Division of Metabolism, Endocrinology and Diabetes and a Research Assistant Professor in the Institute of Gerontology at the University of Michigan. Dr. Papaleontiou’s clinical practice focuses on thyroidology. She also conducts health services research in the field of thyroidology and aging and has received funding from the National Institute on Aging, the Claude D. Pepper Center, the Elizabeth Caroline Crosby Research Fund, and the University of Michigan Biology of Cardiovascular Aging Core, among others. She is a nationally recognized expert in thyroid disease and has served in several leadership positions in multiple national societies. She is a recipient of the ATA’s Women Advancing Thyroid Research Award, the Young Physician-Scientist Award from the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the Rising Star in Endocrinology Award from AACE.


Victoria Banuchi

Vaninder Dhillon

Sophie Dream

Chelsey K Baldwin


Education & Research Committee

Yinin Hu, Chair

Q Lina Hu- Bianco, Vice-Chair

Ethics Committee

James Y. Lim, Vice Chair

Jina Kim, Vice-Chair

Information & Technology Committee

Mary Beth Cunnane, Chair

Lowell Schmeltz, Vice Chair

Membership Committee

Claire E. Graves, Chair

Fernando Walder, Vice Chair

Program Committee

Katie McManus, Chair

Leo Rangel, Vice Chair


Sean Wrenn, Chair

Richard Harding Vice-Chair

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software